- Which CFS This Sheet Covers
- The One-Page Snapshot
- Eligibility, Fees, and Exam Mechanics
- Module 1: Fund Fundamentals Essentials
- Module 2: Fund Application Essentials
- Risk Measures and Cost Concepts to Memorize
- What Is Not Publicly Verified
- Staying Certified: Membership and CE
- Sequencing Your Review
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Certified Fund Specialist is issued by the Institute of Business & Finance (IBF), with two modules: Fund Fundamentals and Fund Application.
- Enrollment is $1,695, and the exam is two proctored closed-book module exams plus a written case study.
- Eligibility requires an accredited bachelor's degree or 2,000 hours of financial-services experience.
- Official exam weights, question counts, time limits, and passing threshold are not publicly verified.
Which CFS This Sheet Covers
This cheat sheet is about the Certified Fund Specialist designation from the Institute of Business & Finance (IBF). The acronym "CFS" is shared by several unrelated credentials, so if you landed here looking for a different one, the fees, dates, and content below will not apply to you. For a plain-language definition, see What Is CFS? and What Does CFS Stand For?.
The Certified Fund Specialist designation focuses on mutual funds, ETFs, and the broader universe of pooled investment vehicles. It is aimed at professionals who recommend, analyze, or construct fund-based portfolios for clients. Everything on this page is built from the public IBF program and enrollment pages, and wherever those pages are silent, this sheet says so instead of guessing.
The One-Page Snapshot
Use this table as the quick-reference core of the sheet. Every row comes from the published program and enrollment information.
| Item | What Is Publicly Stated |
|---|---|
| Credential | Certified Fund Specialist (singular "Fund") |
| Issuing body | Institute of Business & Finance (IBF) |
| Enrollment fee | $1,695 |
| Exam structure | Two proctored closed-book module exams plus a written case study |
| Proctoring | IBF assessments delivered online with ProctorU |
| Attempts included | Two; allocation per exam versus per program is unclear |
| Additional retakes | $75 each |
| Eligibility | Accredited bachelor's degree or 2,000 hours of financial-services experience |
| Curriculum | 21 chapters across Fund Fundamentals (10) and Fund Application (11) |
| Program completion window | 12 months |
| Maintenance | Active membership and 30 CE credits every two years (confirm with IBF) |
| Annual dues | Indexed official figure of $125 for one designation; confirm on your invoice |
Eligibility, Fees, and Exam Mechanics
Who Qualifies
The current agreement states two routes: an accredited bachelor's degree, or 2,000 hours of financial-services experience. Training hours are not a new eligibility requirement. If you are unsure which route fits you, the details are laid out in CFS Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
What You Pay
- Enrollment: $1,695.
- Proctoring: The ProctorU fee is additional, and the amount is not quoted publicly.
- Concierge option: An optional $295 Concierge covers proctor fees, so compare it against the unquoted ProctorU charge before deciding.
- Retakes: Two exam attempts are included; further retakes are $75 each.
- No member/non-member split: No separate member versus non-member exam tariff is published.
For a fuller budget view including ongoing dues, read CFS Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
The Exam Format in Plain Terms
The assessment has three pieces: a closed-book proctored exam for each of the two modules, and a written case study. Because the exams are closed-book and monitored through ProctorU online proctoring, you should expect to confirm your identity and your testing environment before you begin. What IBF does not publicly state is the number of questions, the scored versus unscored split, the timed limit, the precise item format, or the passing threshold. Calculator rules and any adaptive behavior are also unverified.
Key Takeaway
Because the item format and passing score are unpublished, build your preparation around mastering all 21 chapters rather than targeting a rumored cutoff. Candidates who chase a specific percentage they read in a forum are relying on information the issuer has not released. See CFS Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass for how to handle that uncertainty.
Module 1: Fund Fundamentals Essentials
Fund Fundamentals is advertised as 10 chapters. The published topic bullets give the clearest picture of what the module expects. Treat these as the unweighted scope, not as an official blueprint, because exam weights are unknown.
Fund Structures, Share Classes, and Regulatory Framework
You need to explain how funds are organized and regulated, and how share classes differ.
- Know how different fund structures operate and who oversees them.
- Be able to distinguish share classes and why the same underlying portfolio can cost investors different amounts.
- Understand the regulatory framework that governs fund disclosure and sales.
Expense Ratios, Loads, and Total Cost of Ownership
Cost analysis is a recurring theme, and it connects directly to client suitability later in the program.
- Separate ongoing expense ratios from sales loads.
- Think in terms of total cost of ownership across a holding period, not a single fee line.
- Be ready to compare share classes on cost for a stated investor scenario.
Risk Measurement
The published list names standard deviation, beta, Sharpe, and Sortino.
- Know what each measure captures and what it ignores.
- Understand how to interpret a higher or lower value in context.
- Recognize when one measure is more appropriate than another.
Fund Categories
The module covers equity, fixed-income, municipal, and money market funds.
- Match each category to typical objectives, risks, and tax characteristics.
- Understand where municipal funds fit for tax-sensitive investors.
- Know the role money market funds play for liquidity.
ETF Mechanics and the Active vs. Passive Landscape
ETFs get dedicated attention alongside traditional mutual funds.
- Understand how ETFs trade and how that differs from mutual fund transactions.
- Be able to articulate the trade-offs between active and passive management.
- Tie cost differences back to the expense discussion above.
Module 2: Fund Application Essentials
Fund Application is advertised as 11 chapters and shifts from knowledge to use. This is the module most likely to feel connected to the written case study, since both emphasize applying concepts to client situations.
Regulation Best Interest and Fiduciary Duty in Fund Selection
Expect to connect conduct standards to the act of choosing a fund.
- Distinguish Regulation Best Interest from a fiduciary standard.
- Understand how each standard bears on share class and product selection.
- Be able to explain why a lower-cost option may or may not be the right answer for a client.
Specialty Funds, Alternatives, Closed-End Funds, and REITs
This topic extends beyond plain-vanilla open-end funds.
- Know how closed-end funds differ structurally from open-end funds.
- Understand what alternatives and REITs add, and what additional risks they introduce.
- Recognize suitability concerns specific to less conventional vehicles.
Risk Profiling, Client Assessment, and Investment Policy Design
The client side of the process.
- Understand how to assess a client's tolerance, capacity, and objectives.
- Translate that assessment into a written investment policy.
- Expect case-study-style reasoning that links profile to recommendation.
Taxation of Mutual Fund Distributions and Capital Gains
Tax treatment affects after-tax returns and fund choice.
- Understand how distributions and capital gains reach the investor.
- Consider tax efficiency when comparing funds and structures.
- Connect tax outcomes to account type and client circumstances.
Fund Due Diligence, When to Sell, and Portfolio Construction
The capstone topic that ties the program together.
- Know what to examine when evaluating a fund before recommending it.
- Understand the reasons for selling, and how to avoid reactive decisions.
- Combine funds into a coherent portfolio aligned with the investment policy.
For a deeper walk through how these areas relate, see CFS Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 2 Content Areas.
Risk Measures and Cost Concepts to Memorize
The published scope names four risk measures explicitly, so build a one-glance comparison you can recite from memory. The descriptions below are conceptual summaries, not claims about how any particular question will be written.
| Measure | What It Tells You | Common Trap |
|---|---|---|
| Standard deviation | Total volatility of returns around the average | Treating upside and downside swings as equally bad |
| Beta | Sensitivity to market movements | Using it to judge a fund's total risk rather than market-related risk |
| Sharpe ratio | Excess return per unit of total volatility | Comparing it across funds with very different strategies without context |
| Sortino ratio | Excess return per unit of downside volatility | Forgetting it focuses on downside deviation only |
What Is Not Publicly Verified
Honest preparation means knowing the gaps. IBF's public pages do not disclose the following, so any source claiming precise figures should be treated with caution:
- Pass rate: Not publicly disclosed. See CFS Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for how to think about this honestly.
- Question counts and scored/unscored split: Not published.
- Timed limits and item format: Not published.
- Passing threshold: Not published.
- Exam weights: Unknown, so no domain can be verified as the largest.
- 2026 blueprint version: No formal 2026 blueprint version was located, and no dated exam revision is asserted.
- Chapter titles: The 21 advertised chapters are not 21 verified exam domains, and only the ten published topic bullets above are confirmed.
One more caution: figures like a 55 to 70 hour study estimate, a two-minute self-assessment, or a ten-minute practice benchmark are study-planning aids rather than certification exam timers or item counts. Do not read them as exam specifications. If you are weighing difficulty, How Hard Is the CFS Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026 frames it without inventing numbers.
Staying Certified: Membership and CE
Maintaining the designation involves active membership and continuing education. The credential page states active membership plus 30 CE credits every two years. The current enrollment storefront, however, uses annual-CE wording without giving a numerical requirement. These two descriptions differ, and this sheet preserves that difference rather than smoothing it over. Do not assume an annual 30-credit requirement; verify the current renewal terms directly with IBF.
On cost, the indexed official dues figure is $125 annually for one designation, but you should confirm the amount on your actual invoice since multi-designation and timing situations can change what you are billed.
Sequencing Your Review
Because weights are unknown, split your time by module rather than by guessed importance, and leave room for the case study. This is the only study-method section in this sheet, and it is tied to the actual module structure.
Fund Structures and Costs
- Fund structures, share classes, and the regulatory framework
- Expense ratios, loads, and total cost of ownership comparisons
Risk and Categories
- Standard deviation, beta, Sharpe, and Sortino
- Equity, fixed-income, municipal, and money market categories; ETF mechanics
Standards and Specialty Vehicles
- Regulation Best Interest and fiduciary duty in fund selection
- Closed-end funds, alternatives, and REITs
Client Work and Tax
- Risk profiling and investment policy design
- Taxation of distributions and capital gains
Integration and Case Study
- Due diligence, when to sell, and portfolio construction
- Draft practice case-study responses that tie profile, cost, risk, and tax together
Fundamentals come first because cost and risk vocabulary underpins nearly every application topic. For a fuller plan, use the CFS Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and test your recall with the question sets on the main CFS practice test site.
Key Takeaway
Schedule your timed practice after both modules are covered, not before. Closed-book, proctored conditions reward recall, so practice without notes. You can drill each topic area on the CFS Exam Prep practice tests and compare your results against the module outlines above.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Institute of Business & Finance (IBF) issues it. The official title uses the singular "Fund." Assessments are delivered online with ProctorU proctoring.
Enrollment is $1,695. The ProctorU fee is additional and not publicly quoted, an optional $295 Concierge covers proctor fees, and additional retakes beyond the two included attempts are $75. The full picture is in the cost breakdown.
Fund Fundamentals, advertised as 10 chapters, and Fund Application, advertised as 11 chapters. They are unweighted preparation categories drawn from the course modules, not an official weighted exam blueprint.
No. The passing threshold, question counts, timed limits, and item format are not publicly verified, and the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. Prepare for full coverage of the material instead of a target percentage.
The credential page states active membership and 30 CE credits every two years, with indexed dues of $125 annually for one designation. The enrollment storefront uses annual-CE wording without a number, so confirm current terms with IBF before relying on either description.
To judge whether the investment fits your career path, continue with Is the CFS Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026.