CFS logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CFS Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • Qualify with either an accredited bachelor's degree or 2,000 hours of financial-services experience; you need only one.
  • The Institute of Business & Finance (IBF) issues the Certified Fund Specialist designation; enrollment is $1,695.
  • Two online-proctored, closed-book module exams plus a written case study are required, with a 12-month program window.
  • Two exam attempts are included; each additional retake costs $75, and ProctorU fees are separate unless you add the $295 Concierge option.

What the Certified Fund Specialist Credential Is

The Certified Fund Specialist designation is awarded by the Institute of Business & Finance (IBF). Its official title uses the singular "Fund" (Certified Fund Specialist), and it focuses on mutual funds, exchange-traded funds, and the broader fund-selection process that advisors and registered representatives use with clients. If you are unsure how the name is formed or what the letters represent, our explainers on what CFS stands for and what CFS certification is cover the basics.

This article is narrowly about qualifying: who can sit for the program, what you must pay and schedule to get started, and what the designation asks of you afterward. For the broader picture of the credential, see the CFS certification overview.

Identity check before you spend money: several unrelated credentials in the finance and food-safety worlds also abbreviate to "CFS." Everything on this page applies only to the Certified Fund Specialist program from IBF. If a page quotes a different certifying body, a different fee schedule, or different exam dates, it is describing a different credential.

The Two Eligibility Paths

The current IBF agreement sets an either/or standard. You qualify if you hold an accredited bachelor's degree or have accumulated 2,000 hours of financial-services experience. There is no requirement to satisfy both, and the structure is intentionally accessible to people who entered the industry without a four-year degree.

PathWhat You NeedWho It Typically Fits
Education pathAccredited bachelor's degreeRecent graduates, career changers entering advisory or fund-research roles
Experience path2,000 hours of financial-services experienceParaplanners, client-service associates, registered reps, and others working in the industry without a degree

Understanding the 2,000-hour path

Two thousand hours is a cumulative figure, not a calendar deadline. For reference, a full-time schedule of roughly 40 hours a week over a standard working year lands in the neighborhood of that number, but part-time or mixed-duty roles can reach it on a different timeline. The key point is that the requirement is stated in hours of financial-services work. It is not stated as years in a particular job title, and IBF's public language does not require a specific license as a precondition.

Keep records that help you demonstrate your hours: employer letters, role descriptions, or HR verification. The public materials do not publish the exact documentation format IBF expects, so ask the Institute what it accepts before you rely on the experience path.

Understanding the degree path

The degree must be from an accredited institution. The public materials do not specify a required major, so a degree in business, economics, or finance is not stated as mandatory. If your degree is from a foreign institution or an unusual program, confirm with IBF whether it meets their accreditation standard before enrolling.

A common misreading: the program involves substantial study time, but training hours do not count as an additional eligibility requirement. Completing the coursework is how you earn the designation; it is not a prerequisite to becoming eligible. The two things are separate.

What Is Not Required

It helps to be explicit about what the public sources do not list as a barrier to entry:

  • No separate prerequisite exam. Eligibility is a matter of degree or experience, not a gate test.
  • No published minimum on prior fund knowledge. The curriculum starts with fund fundamentals, so you are expected to learn structures, share classes, and costs inside the program rather than before it.
  • No stated requirement for a particular securities license. The designation is educational and credential-based; check your own firm's compliance policies, because internal rules about using professional designations can differ from IBF's eligibility terms.

That said, a candidate with no industry exposure will find the second module (Fund Application) more demanding, because it assumes you can think like an advisor selecting funds for real clients. For a realistic read on that gap, see how hard the CFS exam is.

Enrollment, Fees, and Proctoring Mechanics

Qualifying on paper is only the first step; you also have to enroll and structure your attempts. Here is what the public sources establish:

ItemWhat Is Published
Enrollment$1,695
Exam deliveryIBF assessments, online proctored through ProctorU
ProctorU feeAdditional; amount not quoted publicly
Optional Concierge add-on$295; covers proctor fees
Included attemptsTwo exam attempts (whether the allocation is per exam or per program is unclear in public materials)
Additional retakes$75 each
Member vs. non-member exam pricingNo separate tariff published
Program completion window12 months

The proctoring decision

Because ProctorU fees are billed on top of enrollment and the amount is not quoted publicly, the $295 Concierge option is worth pricing against what ProctorU will charge you per session. If you expect to use both included attempts or to retake a module, a bundled proctor-fee option may or may not come out ahead. Ask IBF for the current ProctorU per-session figure before choosing.

The attempts ambiguity

Public materials state two included attempts but do not clearly say whether that means two per exam or two across the whole program. With two module exams, this difference matters: it determines whether a single failed module uses up half your total allowance. Get this answered in writing before you pay. For a fuller cost picture, including how the pieces add up, read our CFS certification cost breakdown.

Key Takeaway

Before you enroll, email IBF three questions: What is the per-session ProctorU fee? Are the two included attempts per exam or per program? What documentation proves the 2,000-hour experience path? Those three answers remove most of the budgeting and eligibility surprises.

What You Must Pass After You Qualify

Eligibility gets you into the program; the designation itself is earned by completing the required assessments. According to the issuer's program and enrollment pages, you must complete two proctored, closed-book module exams and a written case study, all within the 12-month enrollment window.

Several details are not publicly verified, and it is better to say so than to guess:

  • The exact number of questions on each module exam
  • The split between scored and unscored items
  • Time limits per exam
  • The precise item format
  • The passing threshold
  • The pass rate, which IBF does not publicly disclose

Because the passing threshold is not published in the sources reviewed, treat any specific "passing score" figure you see elsewhere with suspicion. Our page on the CFS passing score and the data discussion in CFS pass rate lay out what is and is not known.

Don't confuse prep benchmarks with exam rules: figures like 55 to 70 suggested study hours, a two-minute self-assessment, or a ten-minute practice benchmark are preparation guides. They are not exam timers, item counts, or eligibility requirements. The only timing constraint tied to the program itself is the 12-month completion window, which is a deadline for finishing the program, not the length of an exam.

Preparation Scope: Two Modules, Twenty-One Chapters

The current public curriculum is organized into two modules spanning 21 chapters in total. IBF advertises 10 chapters in Fund Fundamentals and 11 in Fund Application. Official exam weights are not published, so the topic lists below are an unweighted preparation scope rather than a blueprint. The 21 chapters are advertised course units, not 21 verified exam domains, and the full chapter titles are not publicly listed. For the domain structure in more detail, see the CFS exam domains guide.

Domain 1: Fund Fundamentals (10 advertised chapters)

This module builds the vocabulary and analytical toolkit for evaluating any fund. Published topic areas include:

  • Fund structures, share classes, and the regulatory framework
  • Expense ratios, loads, and total cost of ownership analysis
  • Risk measurement: standard deviation, beta, Sharpe, and Sortino
  • Equity, fixed-income, municipal, and money market fund categories
  • ETF mechanics and the active vs. passive landscape

Domain 2: Fund Application (11 advertised chapters)

This module moves from analysis to recommendation: how to choose, justify, and monitor funds for clients. Published topic areas include:

  • Regulation Best Interest and fiduciary duty in fund selection
  • Specialty funds, alternatives, closed-end funds, and REITs
  • Risk profiling, client assessment, and investment policy design
  • Taxation of mutual fund distributions and capital gains
  • Fund due diligence, when to sell, and portfolio construction

Why this scope matters for eligibility planning

The experience path and the degree path do not change what you are tested on. A 2,000-hour candidate from a client-service role and a recent finance graduate face the same modules. Where they differ is the starting gap: someone who has handled client accounts may already know share-class and cost conversations, while a degree holder with no industry time may find Reg BI, suitability, and policy-statement design more abstract. Our CFS study guide goes deeper on closing those gaps.

Scheduling the Work Around the Twelve-Month Window

A 12-month completion window is generous but not unlimited, and the written case study sits on top of two module exams. A sensible sequence follows the curriculum's own logic: foundations first, application second, case study last, because the case study draws on both.

Months 1-3

Fund Fundamentals

  • Work through structures, share classes, and the cost chapters first; fee math underpins everything later
  • Practice risk metrics (standard deviation, beta, Sharpe, Sortino) until you can explain what each says about a fund
  • Sit the first module exam while the material is fresh
Months 4-7

Fund Application

  • Prioritize Reg BI and fiduciary duty, since they frame every recommendation scenario
  • Cover taxation of distributions and capital gains with worked examples
  • Sit the second module exam, leaving buffer for a retake at $75 if needed
Months 8-10

Case Study

  • Build a client profile, an investment policy outline, and a fund-selection rationale
  • Draw on due diligence and portfolio construction material from both modules

The final two months are intentionally unscheduled. They serve as slack for retakes, proctoring logistics, or work interruptions. For timing specifics, check our page on CFS exam dates, and when you are ready to test your recall, use the CFS practice tests to find weak spots by module.

Keeping the Designation Active

Qualifying is not a one-time event. IBF's credential page states that holders must maintain active membership and 30 continuing-education credits every two years. The indexed dues figure is $125 annually for one designation, though you should confirm the amount on your actual invoice.

A discrepancy worth knowing about: the credential page describes a 30-credit requirement every two years, while the current enrollment storefront uses annual-CE wording without giving a number. Do not assume an annual 30-credit requirement. Verify current renewal terms with IBF directly and plan around what they confirm in writing.

Budget for this ongoing cost when you evaluate the credential. The enrollment fee is the visible expense, but dues and CE time recur. Our ROI analysis weighs those recurring costs against career benefits.

Who Typically Benefits From Qualifying

The designation's content points to roles where fund selection and client recommendations are daily work: financial advisors, registered representatives, paraplanners supporting portfolio construction, and professionals in firms that build model portfolios from mutual funds and ETFs. The Reg BI and fiduciary material in Fund Application is especially relevant for anyone making or supporting recommendations to retail clients.

For concrete earning and hiring information, we deliberately avoid unsupported figures here; see the CFS salary guide and CFS jobs pages for a qualitative discussion of how the designation is used.

One compliance note: FINRA maintains an investor-facing page on professional designations that lists the CFS designation, which is a useful place to check how the designation is described to the public. Always confirm with your firm's compliance department how, and whether, you may display it.

Pre-Enrollment Verification Checklist

Public pages change, and some of what this article relies on came from a program page that required a web-reader capture after a direct request returned an error. Before you commit $1,695, confirm these items directly with IBF:

  1. Eligibility documentation: what proof is accepted for a bachelor's degree or for 2,000 hours of experience.
  2. Attempt allocation: whether the two included attempts apply per exam or across the program.
  3. Proctor fees: the current ProctorU per-session charge and whether the $295 Concierge option covers all sessions you expect to need.
  4. Exam specifics: question counts, time limits, item format, and passing threshold, none of which are publicly verified.
  5. Renewal terms: the exact CE requirement and annual dues on your invoice.
  6. Window rules: what happens if you do not finish within 12 months.

Our hub page on CFS requirements and the one-page cheat sheet summarize the stable facts, but the issuer remains the authority for anything that can change.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need both a degree and industry experience to qualify?

No. The current IBF agreement requires either an accredited bachelor's degree or 2,000 hours of financial-services experience. You need only one of the two.

Does completing the study hours count toward the 2,000-hour requirement?

No. Training hours are not a separate eligibility requirement and are not stated as a substitute for financial-services experience. The 2,000 hours refer to work experience in the financial-services field.

How much does it cost to enroll, and what is extra?

Enrollment is $1,695. ProctorU fees are additional and the amount is not publicly quoted. An optional $295 Concierge add-on covers proctor fees. Two attempts are included, and each additional retake is $75.

How long do I have to finish the program?

The program completion window is 12 months. That figure is a deadline for completing the program, not the length of any exam. Individual exam time limits are not publicly verified.

What do I have to do to keep the designation after passing?

IBF states that you must maintain active membership and complete 30 CE credits every two years, with indexed dues of $125 annually for one designation. The enrollment storefront uses annual-CE wording without a number, so confirm current renewal terms with IBF and check your invoice.

Ready to pass your CFS exam?

Put this into practice with free CFS questions across every exam domain.